Abbey Manor Hotel, Main Street, Dromahair.
Situated about 9 miles from Sligo Town in Lovely Leitrim, Dromahair is a picturesque village
on the banks of the River Bonet near the shores of Lough Gill.
It is surrounded by a historic region which was once the territory of the O'Rourkes,
Princes of Breffni.
During the 'Year of the French' (1798) the French/Irish force under General Humbert passed through Dromahair following their victory over the English at Collooney, during which they had captured two heavy cannon.
The significance of General Humbert disposing of invaluable artillery in the shallow Bonet and not disabling them, would certainly not have been missed on the British. Humbert then hotfooted it on to Manorhamilton, then south through Dromkeeran and on to Ballinamuck, County Longford, and the formal surrender.
Creeveylea Friary, Dromahair, County Leitrim.
The ruins of the 16th century Creevelea Friary is in a graveyard across the river from Dromahair village, about a ten minute walk through a wooded area.
Built in 1508 for the Franciscans by Margaret O'Brien and her husband, Eoghan O'Rourke.
The last pre-Reformation Franciscan foundation in Ireland escaped suppression until it was occupied as a barracks by Sir Richard Bingham in 1590.
It was 1618 before the friars were able to set up a permanent residence again.
The friars had to depart during Cromwellian times, but returned after the Restoration.
They then became involved in parish work in the area.
The last friar of Dromahair was Fr. Peter Magauran, who died in 1837.